“Whether you like it or not, history is on our side. We will bury you.”

Nikita Khrushchev to Western diplomats, 1956

Warsaw Pact (WarPac)

The Warsaw Pact was formed on 14th May 1955 in reaction to West Germany being integrated into the North American Treaty Organisation (NATO). The pact was intended to directly counter NATOs strength and also allow military forces in Central and Eastern Europe to remain under Soviet Control.

Member States:

People’s Republic of Albania
People’s Republic of Bulgaria
Czechoslovak Socialist Republic
German Democratic Republic (DDR)
Hungarian People’s Republic
Polish People’s Republic
Romanian People’s Republic
Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)